About us

Board of Directors

​​​​​​At Agricorp, leadership in governance begins with our board of directors. They are appointed by the lieutenant-governor-in-council through order-in-council. Many have active roles in Ontario’s agricultural communities. 

The full board of directors is responsible for the overall performance of Agricorp. The board and its committees typically meet quarterly, or as required by business demands, and have one ann​ual strategic planning session.

The board is accountable to the minister, through the chair, for setting objectives and strategic direction including the three-year strategic plan for Agricorp.

Murray Porteous

Murray Porteous, Chair (Norfolk County)

Murray is currently a partner in Lingwood Farms Ltd., in Norfolk County. Murray served as Board Chair of a number of agriculture industry organizations including the Ontario Fruit and Vegetable Growers' Association, the Ontario Agricultural Commodity Council, the Canadian Horticultural Council and the Agricultural Research Institute of Ontario. Murray attended the University of Guelph and graduated with a B.Sc. (Agr.) in Agriculture Business. 

Maria Van BommelMaria Van Bommel, Vice-chair (Middlesex)

A former MPP for Lambton-Kent-Middlesex and municipal councillor for East Williams Township, Maria has also been a producer in the pork and poultry sectors. She served as parliamentary assistant to several Ontario ministers including the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs. Active in the community, Maria has sat on a number of industry boards and legislative standing committees. 

Anna BraggAnna Bragg (Durham Region)

Anna is part owner of Bragg Custom Farming Ltd and Bragg’s Wild Bird Seed in eastern Ontario. She has extensive experience as a grain and oilseed producer and is a graduate of the Advanced Agricultural Leadership Program.  She has served on a number of industry boards including the Ontario Corn Producers' Association of which she later became president, and a board member of both the Grain Growers of Canada and the Canada Grains Council board of directors. Anna is also a registered nurse and maintains a private part-time practice. 

John CoreJohn Core (Guelph)

John Core is a former CEO of the Canadian Dairy Commission and former Chair of the Dairy Farmers of Ontario. Mr. Core's community involvement includes serving as a board member of The Foundation of Guelph General Hospital and serving as a member of the Ontario Agricultural Hall of Fame Association Board of Directors for 2015-16. He holds a Master of Science and a Bachelor of Science degree in Agriculture from the University of Guelph.

Carolyn FuerthCarolyn Fuerth (Essex County)

Carolyn is a partner in Ewe Dell Family Farms in Essex County. She has served on a number of industry boards including as a founding member and past chair of Ontario Agri-Food Education Inc., and as a member of the Ontario Farm Products Marketing Commission from 2004 to 2012. Her community involvement includes the Ontario Agriculture Hall of Fame. Carolyn has received a Nuffield Scholarship and also served as a board member. Carolyn holds a Bachelor of  Science degree from the University of Guelph and is also a graduate of the Advanced Agricultural Leadership Program. 

Sheryl KingSheryl King, CA, MBA, FICB (Halton Region)

A managing director with the Bank of Montreal, Sheryl has held a series of progressively senior roles with the bank. She is a respected finance professional with 20 years of international experience overseeing management and legal entity reporting, liquidity, funding and balance sheet management.

Patricia LorenzPatricia Lorenz, MBA, CA, CPA, DVM (Toronto)

Patricia is Chief Operating Officer of Avertus Inc., a neuro-intelligence company. She has experience in the food manufacturing, software, retail, publishing, diagnostic and distribution industries and in the commercialization of agricultural technologies. She is a licensed veterinarian in Ontario.

James RickardJames Rickard (Durham Region)

James (Jim) is part owner and operator of Ceresmore Farms Ltd., in Durham County. Jim is a former chair of the Ontario Broiler Hatching Egg & Chick Commission retiring from this position in 2014. Previously, he served as director, vice chair and chair of the Agricultural Adaptation Council, chair of the Ontario Apple Growers, chair of the Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Appeal Tribunal and director, vice chair and chair of the Ontario Processing Vegetable Growers. Jim holds a Bachelor of Science and Agriculture degree (Crop Science) from the University of Guelph and a Nuffield Scholarship.

Greg Vanden BoschGreg Vanden Bosch (Dundas County)

Greg is a partner in Vanden Bosch Farms and a senior partner in Vanden Bosch Elevators Inc. based in Chesterville, Ontario. He is also a former director and chair of the Grain Section Committee of the Ontario Agri Business Association. He graduated from the University of Guelph's Ridgetown Campus in 1988. Greg attended the Advanced Agricultural Leadership Program (class 4) and the Executive Program for Agricultural Producers in 1995.